Filters
Refresh Subscribe

The best 2018 Summer Reads

Tags: Lifestyle

Longer days and later sunsets means only one thing: leisurely evenings spent outside on the balcony, in the backyard or pool-side soaking in the fresh air and fading rays. At these occasions our cell phones quickly take a back seat to a good book and peace and quiet. Below we name our top picks for reads that help you make the most of those lazy, hazy days of summer.

Tangerine

by Christine Mangan

Newylwed Alice is reluctantly vacationing in Tangier with her husband when her old school friend, Lucy, turns up and slowly begins taking over Alice’s life, possibly going as far as being behind her husband’s unexpected disappearance. $24.99 at Chapters/Indigo

When Life Gives You Lululemons

By Lauren Weisberger

The follow-up book to The Devil Wears Prada, this novel picks up the story of the second assistant Emily as she leaves New York for Greenwich, where she works as an image consultant for a supermodel and senator’s wife. $22 at Chapters Indigo 

Children of Blood and Bone

by Tomi Adeyemi

In a kingdom where magic has been all but eradicated by genocide, Zélie, who possesses dormant powers of her own, must fight alongside her brother and the rebellious Princess Amari to save their people from Amari’s evil brother. $24.99 at Chapters Indigo 

YOU

by Caroline Kepnes

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card. Moving from stranger to stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder. $23 at Chapters Indigo 

Fruit of the Drunken Tree

Set during Pablo Escobar’s reign in 1990s Colombia, this novel is told through the perspectives of two young women from very different social classes, partially inspired by the author’s own early life in Bogotá, Colombia. $35.95 at Chapters Indigo 

The Perfect Couple

by Elin Hilderbrand

Hours before a prominent Nantucket wedding, a body is discovered in the Harbor and everyone in the wedding party is suddenly a suspect. The invasive investigation reveals that every wedding is a minefield of family secrets — and no couple is perfect. $22.99 at Chapters/Indigo

THE WARD: THE LIFE AND LOSS OF TORONTO'S FIRST IMMIGRANT Neighbourhood

by John Lorinc, Michael Mcclelland, Ellen Scheinberg

From the 1840s until the Second World War, waves of newcomers who migrated to Toronto landed in ‘The Ward.’ Through archival photos various contributors, this book tells the diverse stories of the extraordinary and resilient neighbourhood and its residents. $25.95 at Chapters/Indigo

 

 

 

FOR YOUNG ADULTS

The Final Six by Alexandra Monir

Set in the near future, this action-packed novel takes young adults out of this world and on a quest to become one of six teens sent on a mission to Jupiter’s moon. This is the next must-read for fans of Illuminae and The Martian. $23.99 at Chapters Indigo 

 

FOR THE KIDDIES

Alma and How She Got Her Name by Juana Martinez-Neal

Alma has six names, which she thinks is about five too many, until she learns that each of them pays homage to a special person in her life, making her realizes that having six names may be just the right amount. $21.99 at Chapters Indigo